The MoralApologetics.com 2016 Writing Contest Result

Well….I lost. But that is okay. It only challenges me to improve on my writing, especially on executing my arguments articulately. A good argument is consistent. I feel like I have maintained consistency in my essay (if you haven’t yet read my piece, please see The Benefits Factor Argument in Secular Ethics). I think what it ultimately came down to was content. What content was the most interesting or the most challenging?

I first discovered Moral Apologetics after reading Baggett and Wall’s book Good God: The Theistic Foundations of Morality.

51j-bxa23hl-_sx322_bo1204203200_

I instantly became fond of their work. I appreciate so much their candid demeanor. They present secular objections in a sincere manner, and their overall argument for theistic ethics is very strong. I have learned a lot from their book. After searching for David Baggett online, I found his website, Moral Apologetics. I am not a professional philosopher, but I do love to think about my faith, and how God is relevant to everything in the world. I recently purchased their (Baggett and Walls) new book, God and Cosmos: Moral Truth and Human Meaning.

51xvva7v6ol-_sx329_bo1204203200_

The first book established their own argument for theistic ethics. Their new book focuses primarily in analyzing secular ethics and demonstrating its insufficiency to maintain a sound moral foundation.

I highly recommend their first book, I have not fully read the other one. I’ll let you know if it’s good though. Congratulations to whomever won the contest! If you have any recommendations for future subjects (it could be anything), please email me at thechristianwarrior@aol.com

Cheers!

